Harry’s Mad

#ad
Yearling #ad - A believable, satisfying animal fantasy, with memorable characterizations and playful humor. A sprightly read-aloud. Publishers Weekly. Harry's parents and friends think he's crazy because he acts out the rich fantasies of his 10-year-old imagination. And when his eccentric american uncle dies and leaves Harry a parrot named Madison Mad, they're convinced of it.

#ad



Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

#ad
Yearling #ad - Told in letters to sophie’s abuela, quizzes, to-do lists, Unusual Chickens is a quirky, a chicken-care correspondence course, and more, clucky classic in the making. And then more of her great-uncle’s unusual chickens come home to roost. Yearling Books. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, earning money for chicken feed, collecting eggs.

But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky chicken appears and Sophie discovers the hen can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain: jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, the entire henhouse. Fans of katherine applegate and Erin Entrada Kelly will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer #ad - Twelve-year-old sophie brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they’ve inherited from a great-uncle. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them and their superpowers safe.

#ad



Scared Stiff

#ad
Aladdin #ad - But what they find inside sends them on the most terrifying roller coaster ride of their lives. Could whoever took Ma be after them as well? Yearling Books. This bestselling classic mystery filled with “clever sleuthing” Publishers Weekly by two brothers looking for information about their missing mother from three-time Edgar Award­–winning author Willo Davis Roberts is a thrilling roller coaster ride of a read.

Rick and kenny’s pa was right all along—troubles really do happen in threes. Instead the brothers, along with their new friends Connie and Julie, head to the abandoned Wonderland Amusement Park next door to search for answers. First pa’s truck was robbed, too! rick knows ma would never leave them on purpose—but then, Kenny, and Ma to fend for themselves, leaving Rick, then Pa ran off, and now Ma has disappeared, where is she? Waiting in Uncle Henry’s trailer park doesn’t seem to be getting them any closer to figuring out what happened.

#ad



Ice Magic Matt Christopher Sports Series

#ad
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers #ad - But pie's troubles really begin when his next-door neighbors find an antique hockey game. Little brown Books for Young Readers. They swear the game is magic and can predict every play Pie's team will make! When the magic game shows Pie immobilized in midgame, what does it mean for Pie on the ice? Yearling Books.

Pie pennelli loves to play ice hockey, but he's got some problems: his hand-me-down skates are too big for him, and one of his teammates is always giving him a hard time. Ice magic a strange power is at work in the rink.

#ad



What's the Big Idea, Ben Franklin?

#ad
Puffin Books #ad - A fun historic tale by newbery honor-winning author, ben franklin always found time to try out new ideas: a remote-control lock so he could lock his door without getting out of bed, a rocking chair with a fan over it to keep flies away, Jean Fritz!No matter how busy he was, and a windmill to turn his roast meat on its spit.

Aside from being a mad of ideas, an almanac maker, a politician, he was an ambassador to England, and even a vegetarian for a time, a printer, anyway. This biography is distinguished by its humanizing detail and amusing tone. School library Journal Yearling Books. Scott Foresman. Little brown Books for Young Readers.

#ad



Love, Ruby Lavender

#ad
Hmh Books for Young Readers #ad - Little brown Books for Young Readers. Yearling Books. Ruby lavender and miss Eula are a pretty good team, for a couple of chicken thieves. Scott Foresman. What happens instead? she makes a new friend, saves the school play, writes plenty of letters to her favorite and only grandmother. What other granddaughter-grandmother duo could successfully drive the getaway car for chickens rescued from a journey to the slaughterhouse, empty, horrible summer in boring old Halleluia, and operate their own personal secret-letter post office? So, when Miss Eula leaves for Hawaii to visit her new grandbaby, paint a whole house shocking pink, Ruby is sure that she will have a lonely, Mississippi.

And finally learns to stop blaming herself for her grandfather's death. Not too bad, for a nine-year-old.

#ad



The Castle in the Attic

#ad
Yearling 9780440409410 #ad - And suddenly william is off on a fantastic quest to another land and another time—where a fiery dragon and an evil wizard are waiting to do battle. It’s the mysterious castle his housekeeper has told him about, and even though William is sad she’s leaving, now the castle is his! William can’t wait to play with the castle—he’s certain there’s something magical about it.

Little brown Books for Young Readers. One of the classic fantastical adventures of all time!William has just received the best present of his life—an old, with a drawbridge, real-looking stone and wooden model of a castle, a moat, and a fingerhigh knight to guard the gates. And sure enough, when he picks up the tiny silver knight, it comes alive in his hand! Sir Simon tells William a mighty story of wild sorcery, wizards, and magic.

The Castle in the Attic #ad - Yearling Books. Scott Foresman. An ira-cbc children’s choicea california young Reader Medal WinnerA Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award Winner Yearling Books.

#ad



Nim's Island

#ad
Yearling #ad - Meet nim–a modern-day robinson crusoe! She can chop down bananas with a machete, climb tall palm trees, and start a fire with a piece of glass. An island. Yearling Books. Scott Foresman. Little brown Books for Young Readers. A girl. But when her father’s cell-phone calls stop coming and disaster seems near, Nim has to be stronger and braver than she’s ever been before.

And she’ll need all her friends to help her. Yearling Books. She also has an interesting new e-mail pal. So she’s not afraid when her scientist dad sails off to study plankton for three days, leaving her alone on their island. An iguana. And e-mail. Yearling Books. Besides, it’s not as if no one’s looking after her–she’s got a sea lion to mother her and an iguana for comic relief.

#ad



Masterminds

#ad
Balzer + Bray #ad - The first book in the action-packed trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman is perfect for fans of Stranger Things and James Patterson. Eli frieden has never left Serenity, New Mexico. Why would he ever want to? then one day, he bikes to the edge of the city limits and something so crazy and unexpected happens, it changes everything.

Eli convinces his friends to help him investigate further, and soon it becomes clear that nothing is as it seems in Serenity. Balzer Bray Harperteen. Little brown Books for Young Readers. Yearling Books. Yearling Books. Yearling Books. Scott Foresman. The clues mount to reveal a shocking discovery, connecting their ideal crime-free community to some of the greatest criminal masterminds ever known.

Masterminds #ad - The kids realize they can trust no one—least of all their own parents.

#ad



On the Banks of Plum Creek Little House, No 4

#ad
HarperCollins #ad - Soon pa builds them a sturdier house, with real glass windows and a hinged door. They settle into a house made of sod on the banks of beautiful Plum Creek. Balzer Bray Harperteen. Based on the real-life adventures of laura ingalls Wilder, On the Banks of Plum Creek is the Newbery Honor-winning fourth book in the Little House series, which has captivated generations of readers.

HarperTrophy. Yearling Books. Yearling Books. They offer a unique glimpse into life on the American frontier, and tell the heartwarming, unforgettable story of a loving family sticking together through thick and thin. This edition features the classic black-and-white artwork from Garth Williams. The adventures of laura ingalls and her family continue as they leave their little house on the prairie and travel in their covered wagon to Minnesota.

On the Banks of Plum Creek Little House, No 4 #ad - . Yearling Books. Scott Foresman. Little brown Books for Young Readers. Laura and mary go to school, help with the chores around the house, and fish in the creek. Pa’s fiddle lulls them all to sleep at the end of the day. But then disaster strikes—on top of a terrible blizzard, a grasshopper infestation devours their wheat crop.

#ad



The White Mountains The Tripods

#ad
Aladdin #ad - But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods. Little brown Books for Young Readers. But the longer he’s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him…and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.

Yearling Books. Monstrous machines rule the earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave. Will parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. Scott Foresman. Yearling Books. And with the tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast.

The White Mountains The Tripods #ad - With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods—huge three-legged machines—that now control all of Earth. HarperTrophy. Yearling Books. But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard.

Balzer Bray Harperteen.

#ad